The Angelic Realm

The Angelic Realm

A post to help introduce you to the Angelic Realm and some their qualities, it is not an exhaustive or complete list.  For more detailed descriptions, reference A Dictionary of Angels including the fallen angels, by Gustav Davidson.

Michael (“who is as God”)

In Biblical and post-Biblical lore, Michael ranks as the greatest of all angels, whether in Jewish, Christian, or Islamic writings, secular or religious. He derives from the Chaldeans by whom he was worshipped as something of a god. He is chief of the order of virtues, chief of archangels, prince of the presence, angel of repentance, righteousness, mercy, and sanctification; also ruler of the 4th Heaven, tutelary sar (angelic prince) of Israel, guardian of Jacob, conqueror of Satan (bearing in mind, however, that Satan is still very much around and unvanquished).

Gabriel (“God my strength)

One of the 2 highest-ranking angels in Judeo-Christian and Mohammedan religious lore. He is the angel of annunciation, resurrection, mercy, vengeance, death, revelation. Apart from Michael, he is the only angel mentioned by name in the Old Testament books the Book of Tobit, usually considered apocryphal, in which case Raphael, who appears there, becomes the 3rd-named angel in Scripture (but see Gustav Davidson’s article “The Named Angels in Scripture,” wherein no less than 7 angels are named). Gabriel presides over Paradise, and although he is the ruling prince of the 1st Heaven, he is said to sit on the left-hand side of God (whose dwelling is popularly believed to be in the 7th Heaven, or the 10th Heaven).

Raphael (“God had healed”)

Of Chaldean origin, originally called Labbiel. Raphael is one of 3 great angels in post-Biblical lore…Raphael is the regent of the sun (Longfellow refers to him as the angel of the sun), chief of the order of virtues, governor of the south, guardian of the west, ruling prince of the 2nd Heaven, overseer of the evening winds, guardian of the Tree of Life in the Garden of Eden, one of the 6 angels of repentance, angel of payer, love, joy, and light. Above all, he is, as his name denotes, the angel of healing (cf. Aslepios, ancient Greek god of healing). He is also the angel of science and knowledge, and the preceptor angel of Isaac. [Rf. Barrett, The Magus II.] Raphael belongs to at least 4 of the celestial orders: seraphim, cherubim, dominions (or dominations), powers.

Uriel (“fire of God”)

One of the leading angels in noncanonical lore, and ranked variously as a seraph, cherub, regent of the sun, flame of God, angel of the presence, presider over Tartarus (Hades), archangel of salvation (as in II Esdras), etc. In the latter work he acts as heavenly interpreter of Ezra's visions. In Enoch I, he is the angel who "watches over thunder and terror. In The Book of Adam and Eve he presides over repentance...In the most recent apraisal of Uriel is the one offered by Walter Clyde Curry in Milton's Ontology Cosmology and Physics, where, on p. 93, Professor Curry say's of Uriel that he "seems to be largely a pious but not too perceptive physicist with inclinations towards atomistic philosophy." To illustrate in what high esteem Uriel was held, we find him described in the 2nd book of the Sibylline Oracles as one of the "immortal angels of the undying God" who, on the day of judgement, will "break the monstrous bars framed of unyielding and unbroken adamant of the brazen gates of Hades, and cast them down straightway, adn bring forth to judgement all the sorrowful forms, yea, of the ghosts of the ancient Titans and of the giants, and all whom the flood overtook...and all these shall he bring to the judgement seat...and set before God's seat.

Azrael (Azrail, Ashriel, Azaril, Gabriel, etc. - “whom God helps”)

In Hebrew and Islamic lore, the angel of death, stationed in the 3rd Heaven. To the Moslems, Azrael is another form of Raphael. In their tradition, he has “70,000 feet and 4,000 wings, while his body is provided with as many eyes and tongues as there are men in the world.” [Rf. Hastings, Encyclopedia of Religion and Ethics IV, 617.]

Metatron (Metratton, Mitron, Metaraon, Merraton, etc.)

In Noncanonical writings, Metatron is perhaps the greatest of all the heavenly hierarchs, the 1st (as also the last) of the 10 archangels of the Briatic world. He has been called king of angels, prince of the divine face or presence, chancellor of Heaven, angel of the covenant, chief of the ministering angels, and the lesser YHWH (the tetragrammaton). He is charged with the sustenance of mankind. In Talmud adn Targum, Metatron is the link between the human and the divine. In his earthly incarnation he was the patriarch Enoch - although Tanhuna Genesis [Rf. Jewish Encyclopedia I, 94] claims he was originally Michael.